A Glorious Pursuit: Messi’s 2023 Ballon d’Or Quest for an Eighth Triumph

Rohit Yaduwanshi
8 Min Read
Ballon d’Or

The 2023 Ballon d’Or Ceremony

The Ballon d’Or, presented by France Football magazine, is set for its 67th annual edition. This year, Chelsea legend Didier Drogba will host the gala event at Paris’s Theatre du Chatelet, marking the second time the awards will be based on players’ performance in the season rather than the calendar year.

Categories and Awards

In addition to the Men’s and Women’s Ballon d’Or, the event will feature the presentation of several other prestigious awards:

  • Kopa Trophy: Celebrating the best U-21 player.
  • Yashin Trophy: Honoring the best goalkeeper.
  • Socrates Award: Recognizing players for their outstanding sportsmanship.
  • Gerd Müller Trophy: Awarded to the top scorer.
  • Club of the Year: Acknowledging the best club.

Contenders for the Men’s Ballon d’Or 2023

Lionel Messi and Erling Haaland lead the list of 30 candidates for the Ballon d’Or. Messi, the former FC Barcelona and Paris Saint Germain (PSG) superstar, aims to secure a record-extending eighth trophy at the prestigious awards in Paris.

Event Details

  • Date and Time: The Ballon d’Or 2023 will commence at 11:30 PM IST on Monday in France.
  • Venue: The awards event will be hosted at the Theatre du Chatelet in Paris.
  • Live TV Coverage in India: Sony Sports network will provide live telecast in India.
  • Live Streaming in India: L’Equipe’s official YouTube channel will offer free live streaming of the event.

Full List of Men’s Ballon d’Or 2023 Nominees

  • André Onana – Manchester United/Cameroon
  • Josko Gvardiol – Manchester City/Croatia
  • Karim Benzema – Al Ittihad
  • Jamal Musiala – Bayern Munich/Germany
  • Mohamed Salah – Liverpool/Egypt
  • Jude Bellingham – Real Madrid/England
  • Bukayo Saka – Arsenal/England
  • Randal Kolo Muani – Paris Saint-Germain/France
  • Kevin De Bruyne – Manchester City/Belgium
  • Bernardo Silva – Manchester City/Portugal
  • Emiliano Martínez – Aston Villa/Argentina
  • Khvicha Kvaratskhelia – Napoli/Georgia
  • Rúben Dias – Manchester City/Portugal
  • Nicolo Barella – Inter Milan/Italy
  • Erling Haaland – Manchester City/Norway
  • Yassine Bounou – Al Hilal/Morocco
  • Martin Ødegaard – Arsenal/Norway
  • Julián Álvarez – Manchester City/Argentina
  • Ilkay Gündogan – Barcelona/Germany
  • Vinícius Júnior – Real Madrid/Brazil
  • Lionel Messi – Inter Miami/Argentina
  • Rodri – Manchester City/Spain
  • Lautaro Martínez – Inter Milan/Argentina
  • Antoine Griezmann – Atletico Madrid/France
  • Robert Lewandowski – Barcelona/Poland
  • Kylian Mbappé – Paris Saint-Germain/France
  • Kim Min-jae – Napoli/South Korea
  • Victor Osimhen – Napoli/Nigeria
  • Luka Modric – Real Madrid/Croatia
  • Harry Kane – Bayern Munich/England.

This year’s Ballon d’Or promises to be a captivating event with football’s finest talents vying for the sport’s most coveted award. Stay tuned for the latest updates and live coverage as the action unfolds in Paris.

Here are ten interesting facts about the Ballon d’Or:

  1. Inception in 1956: The Ballon d’Or was first awarded in 1956 by France Football magazine, making it one of the oldest and most prestigious individual awards in football.
  2. Original Eligibility: Initially, the award was limited to European players from European clubs. It was later expanded to include all players from around the world, playing for clubs worldwide.
  3. Lionel Messi’s Dominance: Lionel Messi holds the record for the most Ballon d’Or wins, with seven titles. He won his first in 2009 and continued to dominate the award for several years.
  4. Yearly Presentation: The Ballon d’Or has been awarded every year since its inception, with the exception of 2020 when it was canceled due to the COVID-19 pandemic.
  5. Players with Multiple Wins: Other than Messi, several players have won the Ballon d’Or multiple times, including Cristiano Ronaldo, Michel Platini, and Johan Cruyff.
  6. Kopa Trophy: Named after French football legend Raymond Kopa, the Kopa Trophy is presented to the best under-21 player. It was introduced in 2018.
  7. Yashin Trophy: The Yashin Trophy, named after legendary Soviet goalkeeper Lev Yashin, is awarded to the best goalkeeper. This category was introduced in 2019.
  8. Socrates Award: Inaugurated in 2018, the Socrates Award recognizes players for their exemplary sportsmanship, fair play, and commitment to social causes.
  9. Club of the Year: France Football introduced the Club of the Year award in 2019 to honor the top-performing football club.
  10. Original Scoring System: In the early years of the Ballon d’Or, only journalists voted for the winner. Today, a panel of international journalists, national coaches, national captains, and managers of international teams participate in the voting.

These facts highlight the rich history and evolution of the Ballon d’Or, as well as the achievements of some of the greatest footballers in the world.

  1. What is the Ballon d’Or? Answer: The Ballon d’Or is an annual football award presented by France Football magazine. It recognizes the world’s best football player based on their performance over the past year.
  2. Who won the most Ballon d’Or awards? Answer: Lionel Messi holds the record for the most Ballon d’Or wins, with seven titles. He won in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2015, 2019, and 2021.
  3. When was the Ballon d’Or first awarded? Answer: The Ballon d’Or was first awarded in 1956, making it one of the oldest football awards.
  4. Why was the Ballon d’Or canceled in 2020? Answer: The Ballon d’Or 2020 was canceled due to the COVID-19 pandemic, as the organizers felt it was not possible to fairly evaluate players’ performances.
  5. How is the Ballon d’Or winner selected? Answer: The Ballon d’Or winner is selected through a voting process. A panel of international journalists, national coaches, national captains, and managers of international teams vote for their top choices.
  6. Is the Ballon d’Or only for male players? Answer: No, the Ballon d’Or includes awards for both male and female players. The Men’s Ballon d’Or and the Ballon d’Or Féminin are presented annually.
  7. Who won the first-ever Ballon d’Or? Answer: Stanley Matthews, an English footballer, won the first-ever Ballon d’Or in 1956.
  8. How many categories of Ballon d’Or awards are there? Answer: Apart from the Men’s and Women’s Ballon d’Or, there are additional categories, including the Kopa Trophy (for under-21 players), Yashin Trophy (best goalkeeper), Socrates Award (sportsmanship), and Club of the Year.
  9. Who is the current Ballon d’Or holder for 2021? Answer: The current Ballon d’Or holder for 2021 is Lionel Messi, who won the award for the seventh time.
  10. Where is the Ballon d’Or ceremony held? Answer: The Ballon d’Or ceremony takes place in various locations, but it is often held in Paris, France. The venue may change from year to year.
Enjoyed this content? Explore more on my blog for a treasure trove of similar articles and insights!

Daily News Bytes 24
Share This Article
Greetings! I'm your friendly blogger, clocking in with a solid decade of experience in the realm of crafting stories and sharing insights. With a passion for blogging that's been the driving force behind my journey.Imagine a path where every post is a glimpse into my world of experiences, musings, and discoveries. From unraveling the latest trends to penning down news articles that resonate, I'm here to make the digital landscape a little more relatable and a lot more engaging. So, let's embark on this storytelling adventure together, where every blog post is a unique thread in the rich tapestry of online narratives!
Leave a comment

Discover more from Daily News Bytes 24

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading